footprintsontheceiling

The simple pleasures of winter

In mijos on December 4, 2008 at 10:59 am

kid-snow

Damn, I really should stop and smell the tulips more often.  Amidst all the craziness of life, it’s a pure joy to walk two boys to school in the snow.  Here in Denver, we got our first decent snow of the season last night and today (it’s still going), and, because we live a block from their school, I walked the boys to school this morning in that snow.  So while the financial mess in our country is on my mind and the real estate slowdown is on my mind and the fact that I should go see a dentist soon is on my mind, I walk with my 5 year old and my 8 year old sons up snow covered sidewalks, through a quiet landscape of pure white, while they stick out their pink tongues to taste the snow and they shield their blue eyes under their skull caps to keep the snow out of those precious eyes.  They talk about building a snowman after school and whether or not they’re going to have to stay in at recess today.  They’re wearing big parkas, carrying their backpacks with the delicious lunches I made for them, and they’re each holding my hand tightly so they don’t slip and fall on the sidewalks.  And I stop for a moment and reflect….nothing else really matters.

  1. Beautiful, really. I love those moments when you get tethered again.

Leave a Reply

