footprintsontheceiling

Footprints On….The Election.

In Footprints on..., Tuesday rants on August 25, 2008 at 10:42 pm

I went downtown today on my bike, to check out what the DNC’s done to my fair city.  There are a LOT of policemen and a lot of blocked off roads, and I’m going to go back to Tent State Wednesday or so to take a closer look at it.  Suffice to say Tent State felt very much to me like what the 1960s feels like in my mind; lots of young anti-war protesters with good points to make.  I was very moved by it, honestly, and will hold my comments on it until I get a chance to spend some more time there.

Anyway, amid all the press passes and TV cameras and cops on bikes, you know what struck me the most?  There are freaking HIllary supporters EVERYWHERE.  Before I go on this rant I’m about to go on, let me just preface it by saying that I used to be objective in my political thought.  I consider myself fiscally conservative yet socially liberal.  And I have an open mind, all the time.  I like to consider all sides of every issue before coming to my own conclusions, whether they follow any “party” lines or not.

But if you’re planning on voting for McCain in this election, you aren’t paying attention.  I had a good friend tell me recently, “Dude, I can’t decide who to vote for.”  I told him, “Man, if the last eight years haven’t changed your mind, I can’t help you.”  Seriously, what part of “wrong war/horrible economy/human and civil rights violations” don’t people get?  And I’m sorry, McCain used to seem like a decent fellow, before he was turned into Darth McCain by the Republican Dark Side, but we cannot cannot CANNOT afford to have this guy or any Republican lead our country for the next 4 or 8 years.  And when I see Hillary supporters all over the place, I get a bad feeling in my political belly.  They say 27% of Hillary supporters are going to support McCain in the election.  SERIOUSLY?  SERIOUSLY?  What the fuck is wrong with you people?  You’re going to throw the race to the Dark Side just because you were slighted or “not treated fairly” by the Obama camp?  COME ON!  I realize Obama made a serious error in his Vice President pick (see below), but you’ve got to vote the party ticket.  Just because this country needs it.  Can you imagine 4 or 8 more years of Republican rule?  I can’t.  And just because you Hillary supporters are wounded emotionally or whatever, that’s probably going to happen.   Thanks.  Thanks for that.  Just because you didn’t get your way, you 27% percent, you’re going to all ignore your morals and your ethics and your principals and vote for McCain.  Yeah, that makes a lot of sense.   That’d be like me having  one bad drink in Vegas and all of a sudden packing it all in for Laughlin.  Yeah, that’ll happen.

No, see, it won’t.  Because that’d be stupid.  And I’m not calling you 27% stupid, but I am.  Because that’s what it feels like to me.  You’re stupid.  There, I said it.

While we’re on the topic, I also have a pretty bad feeling about the VP pick.  Obama’s riding the “change” wave nicely, but all of a sudden he picks an old white guy with 35 years in politics?  SERIOUSLY?   What part of “35 years in politics” signifies “change” to you?  That’d be like me saying “You know what?  I feel like gelato today.”  And then going to freaking Baskin Robbins where ALL THEY HAVE IS THE SAME OLD FUCKING ICE CREAM.   Seriously, I was really hoping that Obama had something up his sleeve.  Something dramatic.  Hillary would have won the election for him.  Al Gore would have been a nice surprise VP pick.  Hell, a scoop of gelato would have made a nice dramatic VP candidate.  But Joseph Biden?  He’s as old as McCain!  If McCain were to pick a young African American VP candidate, you’d almost have a hard time telling the parties apart!

I’m going to go out on a limb right here and say that if McCain picks a female VP candidate, it’s over and he wins.  While I don’t give the Dark Side credit for much, I do know they know how to win elections (it’s a talent our party seems to have lost), and if McCain put a woman on his ballot, that would do it.  It’d be nearly as “change” worthy as anything Obama’s done.

Look, I went to bed the night before the elections 4 years ago and 8 years ago thinking, “there’s no way W gets a single vote.  Not one.  Nobody’s stupid enough to vote for that guy.”  Well, apparently I don’t understand 55 million Americans.  And if you’re one of them, that’s okay too.  I have Republican friends.  Allegedly.  But have you all seen what state our country is in?  What’s this election all about?  I heard somebody on the radio say, “Everybody’s missing the boat.  This election is all about abortion and pro-life!  Go McCain!”  Okay, I get that.  You can be pro-life.  No problemo.  But when everything in our country is owned by Middle Easterners and we all have to learn to speak Chinese because they bought our teachers and we have 20,000 kids dead in a pre-emptive occupation (It’s not a war – it’s an occupation) of a country that posed no threat to us and we have another 20,000 dead in Iran, France and Wherever because our president felt slighted by some action or non-action they took, it’ll still be great around here because nobody’ll be able to get abortions.  Yippee!  Yay America!  Yay unwanted children!

Look, in 2000 I would have voted McCain over Bush, if I leaned that way.  In 2008, I would have voted for Hillary, had she not been caught flat-footed by the Obama swell.  I think a vote for a Democrat right now is a vote for our country right now.  And it’s Obama’s time to be that Democrat.  You 27%, if you really want Hillary to come back in 2012 or 2016 to run, you need to put aside your hurt from losing the primary race and vote for our party.  Vote for our country.  Vote Obama.  ‘Cuz if you vote for McCain, who knows where we’ll be in 4 years?

  1. Wonder what the Hillaristas will do after hearing HRC’s talk tonite? Hopefully they will get on the Barack bus and do their part to get us back to where we need to be.

    Great post, btw!

Leave a Reply

