footprintsontheceiling

A Long Way Down.

In books on June 26, 2007 at 10:13 pm

200px-longwaydowncover.jpg

 

I started reading this book on vacation and I finished it tonight, and it’s fantastic. Or, as the Brits would say, brilliant. It starts off with a premise as brilliant as any I can remember, and I’m a huge fan of great premises: Four people (3 Brits and an American), on New Year’s Eve, each separately climb to the roof of a building in London to jump off. Which is a freaking brilliant premise. Think of the possibilities!

And Nick Hornby (High Fidelity, About A Boy) delivers on the premise with a novel that’s dark, funny, and, above all, an affirmation of life and the human condition and all of its foibles. Without giving too much away – because I know you’re all going to rush out and buy it tomorrow – there are little surprises all over the book and you’ll find yourself alternately cringing and laughing, at times on the same page. It’s a great read.

A Long Way Down on wikipedia.

  1. Can’t wait to read it!

  2. Well that’s another book on my holiday reading list but I think it’s going to jump the que lol

    As a ‘thank you’ for the intriguing write up let me ‘tag’ you with the 8 random things meme … you can read the rules here http://beaut1ful.wordpress.com/2007/06/23/meme8-random-facts/

    Hope you don’t mind … blame Damian … I found you through his site lol

  3. Just finished!

    Pretty much concur with your thoughts. I really loved that it wasn’t predictable in the least and I never really knew how it would end until the end.

Leave a Reply

